The Magic Word

When I was a child one of my favorite movies was Shrek. It was 2011 when they made to the cat his own movie. When I was child (that time 12) they always dubbed children movies in finnish. I remember there was one scene in movie that Puss and Humpty Dumpty were in a orphanage and all the orphans were making lots of noise in the lunchroom. The lady who worked there tried to clap her hands few times to get thoses children to be quiet, of course that didn’t work, she tried again and again it didn’t work. After that she yelled “silêncio” and all the orphans were quiet. Eventhoug the whole movie was dubbed in finnish they didn’t dubbed that part.

One day in the kindergarten where I work as a volunteer I was alone with the children for about 7 minutes and there were lots of noise. I tried to calm them and speak to them in english (cause I don’t speak portuguese) and they didn’t understand and they thought that it was funny. I didn’t have time to open Google translate to check what’s the right word for that. Then I remembered the magic word “silêncio” I learned many years ago watching an animation movie. I knew that in that movie they kind of speak spanish but I had nothing to lose and I will give that a try. I said loudly “silêncio” (in my very beautiful finnish accent) and before I get to even finish the word all of them were quiet.

So the teaching of the story was that watch animation movies and give things a try because you have nothing to lose.

Essi

Deixe um comentário